Small Businesses and Customer Service


In the small river town of Bellevue, KY where I live there are quite a few local shops and eateries. I try my best to shop local or in family owned businesses when I can. However, I find that some of these businesses drive customers away through pour planning and customer service. The city has put much emphasis and resources into helping businesses that won’t help themselves. The key to maintaining a business is having a product that people want to buy and great customer service to deliver that product. It should be about the customer. If I wan’t to pay with a credit or debit card I should not be made to feel bad about it or pay more for it. Credit card fees are a part of doing business; either accept credit or don’t. Customers don’t like “Anti Customer Service” signs reading “Mean People Go Away” when they’re waiting fifteen minutes to buy a cup of coffee. It’s as if they know they give poor customer service and don’t care. I would rather endure 3 minutes at the CONVENIENCE store than fifteen minutes at the family owned business with poor customer service.

It’s the little things that bring people back to your business and compel them to refer people to you.

 

Just a few thoughts from a consumer!

 

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Small Businesses and Customer Service

  1. David Gordon July 26, 2014 at 9:43 am Reply

    I ran my own business for 10 years. My motto was “Promise much, deliver more.” All of my clients were attorneys which, if you are unaware, are a tough crowd to do business with.

    I totally agree that if you can’t deliver excellent customer service, you don’t deserve to stay in business.

  2. Alex Jones July 27, 2014 at 6:07 am Reply

    My town of Colchester has no good website to promote it, so I have a plan to introduce such a site with its target focus on visitor and resident, but places all the businesses second.

Leave a Reply

