Sichuan Chili Cincinnati; Restaurant Review


Sichuan Chili

Sichuan Chili Chinese Restaurant (Authentic Sichuan) (513) 376 7223

10400 Reading Road, Suite 205B Evendale, OH, 45241

Price $$$$

Dress Casual

Menu

Map

Parking Lot

Well I can’t tell you how happy I am to write this review. My friend Jay Erisman told me about Sichuan Chili with a great big smile on his face saying I had to get there. When Jay says check out a restaurant… You do it! Jay had me at “Authentic Sichuan!” I called my friend Craig (who is an adventurous eater like me) and asked him to help me eat a bunch of awesome food! We arrived a little before 7PM to an almost empty restaurant but the few people eating were Chinese (A good sign). The weather was a bit snowy so I thought that might have scared the people away. I was wrong! By the time we were finished the restaurant was packed and quite busy. We were greeted with smiles and welcome to Sichuan Chili. The service was good and the servers were willing to offer suggestions despite a mild language barrier. The only negative was when our server tried to talk Craig out of his Pork Liver and Kidney Stir-Fry selection saying “mostly Chinese people order that.” It turned out to be his favorite dish. Craig and I ordered 3 appetizers and what we thought were three entrees from the “New Sichuan Menu.” The New Sichuan Menu is separate from their regular menu; it’s the “Authentic Menu”. Make sure you ask for it. It turns out items from this menu feed at least three people. So we ordered enough food for 9 people. No wonder our server looked at us like we were crazy! We both ate so much; we put a huge dent in the food and split the leftovers. At one point Craig looked up and said “I’m so happy right now!” Agreed! The food was simply amazing, prepared with chili oil and handfuls of Sichuan Pepper corns and Dried Whole Chilies. There were no prepared foods that we saw. Everything was made to order including the Homemade Pot-stickers. The dishes were spicy but not out of control.

Sichuan Chili gets my highest recommendation!

This is the best Chinese food I’ve ever eaten and the best restaurant meal I’ve eaten since moving to Cincinnati! 

Appetizers

Dan Dan Noodle $5.99: Served warm in chili oil and spicy sauce. Sorry, no picture. We crushed them before we could take a picture.

Pot-stickers $6.99: Wow, the best Pot-stickers ever! Homemade dough and stuffed with spices, ground pork and ginger.

Pot-Stickers

Pot-Stickers

Mala Chicken $7.99: Served cold in chili oil with peanuts and scallions. This dish had a lot of bones in it. We both liked it but the tiny bone shards was a little too much work for us.

Mala Chicken

Mala Chicken

Entrees

Sichuan Bo Bo Beef $15.99: The spiciest of the dishes we ordered and my favorite. Beef with scallions, pickled cucumber, whole dried chilies and Sichuan Peppercorns.

Bo Bo Beef

Bo Bo Beef

Fish Fillets Stir Fried in Chili Oil $19.99: Wow! The picture says it all… Large amounts of fish and tofu in a spicy bath of chili oil and broth seasoned with mouth numbing amounts of Sichuan Peppercorns. Craig liked the broth so much he poked a whole in his last pot-sticker and filled it with it.

Fish Filets Stir Fried in Chili Oil

Fish Fillets Stir Fried in Chili Oil

Pork Liver and Kidney Stir Fry $10.99: The name says it all. Craig’s favorite dish of night. I liked it as well; very rich and earthy flavors.

Pork Liver and Kidney Stir Fry

Pork Liver and Kidney Stir Fry

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sichuan Chili Cincinnati; Restaurant Review

  1. Gabe from MD May 29, 2015 at 7:06 am Reply

    Holy smokes Eric! What a recommendation!!! Absolutely fantastic meal, and stands up to any Sichuan restaurant I’ve been to in NY or SF.

    I had the Bo-Bo Beef, Sizzling Lamb, Dan-Dan noodles and farmers eggplant. All were outrageous and I also made a sizable dent, only taking home some rice and bo-Bo beef.

    Thanks for the wonderful recommendation! Next time I’m in town, we’re going out for dinner!

    • Eric Brown May 29, 2015 at 7:10 am Reply

      That’s awesome Gabe, I’m glad you liked it! LMK when you’re back in town.

  2. Gabe May 30, 2015 at 9:37 am Reply

    I certainly will Eric. You LMK when the private roll in too!

  3. Gabe May 30, 2015 at 9:37 am Reply

    I certainly will Eric. You LMK when the private barrels roll in too!

Leave a Reply

