Quick & Simple: Cleaning out the fridge!


 

Someone asked me Saturday morning at the “Farmers Market” for some quick and easy recipes. This is recipe is a great representation of the way I cook when I don’t feel like cooking. Total time with prep is about 30-40 minutes.

As a kid my dad was living with his girlfriend, April. April was a huge influence on me, specially in the area of cooking. April had a way of coming up with things on the fly. One of the dishes April made that amazing was Pan Sauteed Kidneys. This dish is representative of what I learned watching April cook.

I was looking through my fridge and noticed I had two containers with half an onion in each, 3 red potatoes and 5 mushrooms. I wanted to use this stuff before it went bad, I hate when I forget about things in my fridge and have to throw them away. I had to figure out what I wanted to cook with these ingredients in one dish. I do variations of this dish depending on what I have to get rid of.

Ingredients

1-2 skinless chicken breasts cut into strips

5 mushrooms roughly chopped

1 cup onions halved and sliced into ribbons

1 sprig fresh rosemary, strip off leaves

3-4 small cloves garlic

Olive oil to coat pan

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

Preheat a skillet to medium high, add oil when the pan is hot. Add chicken and sprinkle with pepper but not salt. Brown chicken on both sides. Add mushrooms, onion, garlic, rosemary and water. Give a quick stir, reduce heat a little and cooked cover for ten minutes. Add potatoes and salt, stir and cook covered until potatoes are done but not mushy. Serve with Pinot Grigio if you have it or other white wine.

Some variations that work with this would be chicken thighs. In fact, chicken thighs would be best but I did not have any. Substitute white wine for water if you have it. Again, I didn’t have any on this occasion. This recipe is all about using what you have creatively.

 

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Quick & Simple: Cleaning out the fridge!

  1. April Bayne April 19, 2013 at 12:31 pm Reply

    Thanks. Looks like a winner. I still cook the same way, just make it up as I go along.
    April

Leave a Reply

