Carlos Torano Salutem Cigar Review


I have been smoking Torano Cigars for about 12 years; over this time there have been several cigars that made me take a minute and say WOW! Most notably the Torano Tribute 2003 and the Casa Torano Connecticut released in 2004 or 2005. The Torano Salutem is another very memorable cigar. If this doesn’t make Cigar Aficionado’s top ten, I will be very surprised. Torano Cigars has gone through some changes over the last five years and have resurrected their brand. I have become acquainted with Charlie Torano (Son of the Patriarch Carlos Torano) and have enjoyed a few conversations over cigars. Oddly enough, our conversations always lead to family and interests outside of cigars. Family is very important to Charlie and it shows in his company and cigars. Every time Charlie comes to our area I try to at least pay a visit and say hello. About six or seven years ago myself and a colleague got a chance to sit down with Carlos Torano in there Miami offices. I was overwhelmed with information about the the exodus of 1959. What an experience and opportunity! A few years ago a friend and former customer of mine from La Havanita Cigars in Chicago made a move from CAO over to Torano Cigars. Miguel told me how much he liked working with Torano Cigars because it was like family. That’s not the first time I had heard that; our former sales rep Armando Lapido expressed the same sentiment when we visited Torano in Miami. Family values and the ability to make some of the best cigars in the market is a recipe for success.

Carlos Torano Salutem Toro Major

Size: 5 5/8 x 55

Wrapper: Ecuador Habano

Binder: Nicaragua (Jalapa)

Filler: Nicaragua (Esteli) (Jalapa), Dominican Corojo and African Cameroon

The Salutem was developed over a year and half of experimental blends developed by Charlie Torano, Miguel Schoedel and Bruce Lewis. I was given a Salutem the night before I wrote this. The Salutem inspired me to drive down tho The Party Source to buy another to review.

I sat down on a Saturday afternoon with some El Dorado 5 Year rum and lit up! The Salutem is visually appealing with excellent construction. The cigar felt dense and packed with tobacco yet the draw was perfect. I immediately thought of the Tribute 2003. Rich and spicy off the bat but mellowed quickly. There was a slight but notable citrus flavor on the long finish. Coco, leather and nuts were also quite pleasant going well with the rum. The Salutem is ready to smoke; no need to age these treasures. Producing very rich flavors, I think the addition of Cameroon in the filler was brilliant. The Salutem smoked well all the way to the end. Well rolled cigars do not get bitter at the end because they don’t get soft and allow too much air in. I think consistency in construction is one of Torano’s best attributes. Overall I think this is one of the best cigars of the year and will see much success. I highly recommend the Torano Salutem. I salute Torano for their ongoing mission to bring us the very best cigars.

Alex, Kevin, Micah, Charlie, Miguel and me at The Party Source Torano Cigar Dinner.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Carlos Torano Salutem Cigar Review

  1. M.M. October 31, 2012 at 4:34 pm Reply

    Great review and blog!

Leave a Reply

